home gallery shop blog artists shows about great seal links contact e pluribus participate
The Great Seal

Many think that the motto E Pluribus Unum was chosen to refer only to the uniting of the first 13 states of North America. However, according to records from the first committee appointed by Congress on July 4th, 1776, E Pluribus Unum referred also - and perhaps more importantly - to the 6 countries from which the States were peopled: England, Scotland, Ireland, France, Holland and Germany.

This concept "Out of Many, One" is more relevant than ever now, considering that people from all over the planet make up the citizenry of the United States today.

For more information go to: